Purge deleted users in Office 365

When deleting users in the Microsoft Online Portal these deleted users are moved to the Recycle Bin where they will be retained for another 30 days. You can see this when selecting Deleted Users in the Portal:

image

In the Portal it is not possible to permanently remove users, or purge deleted user accounts. This can only be done using Remote PowerShell. Please note that the Azure Active Directory Module for Windows PowerShell need to be installed. Click here to install this PowerShell module.

To connect to the Azure Active Directory you can use the following commands:

$msolcred = get-credential admin@contoso.onmicrosoft.com
connect-msolservice -credential $msolcred

To retrieve a list of all deleted users in the recycle bin you can use the following command:

Get-MsolUser –ReturnDeletedUsers

image

To remove all these users you can combine this command with the Remove-MsolUser command:

Get-MsolUser –ReturnDeletedUsers | Remove-MsolUser –RemoveFromRecycleBin –Force

When you check the Deleted Users in the Online Portal you’ll see that it is empty.

3 thoughts on “Purge deleted users in Office 365”

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s